Japan to Deny Foreign Resident Re-Entry from Risk Countries

Japan will deny re-entry of foreign residents who have been to countries at risk or deemed likely to have widespread infections of the Covid-19 omicron variant starting December 2, 2021.

The new measure came after the government shut its border on Wednesday, barring international travellers from entering the country in concerns of the omicron variant. The country reported the first omicron case on a diplomat who travelled from Namibia and arrived at Narita Airport during the weekend.

The new prime minister Fumio Kishida said that this will be temporary and he is prepared to bear all criticism from those saying the Kishida administration is being too cautious on this move.


The ten countries listed for the re-entry ban are Angola, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe.